Back to the Timeline Young Ensembles

Young Ensembles: Black Page Orchestra part 1 – impuls

02/2021 - impuls – AT

Young Ensemble in Residency: Black Page Orchestra

Black Page Orchestra is one of the ensembles benefitting from the Young Ensembles program of the ULYSSES Network.

They start with an invitation to impuls (AT) in February 2021, to be continued in August 2021, taking the position of junior-tutors, offering workshops for young composers, and profiting themselves from the support of senior academy tutors on site.

The ensemble members have the chance to connect with young composers through a call for scores, reading/feedback-sessions, and partly more intense rehearsals, leading to performances of selected pieces as well as other works as typical for their own repertoire and profiles.

Black Page Orchestra is featured with two concerts, working closely with François Sarhan for example, one of the academy´s composition tutors, to premiere a selection of pieces from his „Log Book 2020“ at the impuls Festival.

Besides several presentations of their workshops, dealing with „21st Century Piano Virtuosity“ for example, are scheduled and so is a solo and duo concert with musicians of the ensemble as well as a talk, where the ensemble shares its knowledge about how to create a recognizable ensemble-profile, the art of programming and many other practical issues.

Detailed program available here.


But Black Page Orchestra is invited to be active not only at the main period of the impuls Academy and Festival, that had to be postponed for most of its activities from February to August 2021 due to the COVID-19-pandemic, but also to present a concert-program in February 2021:


Concert 1: 18.2.2021, Helmut List Halle
Waagner-Biro-Straße 98a, 8020 Graz


Programme Black Page Orchestra:

Peter Ablinger: from Black Series: Mondrian-Serie (2013)

Sarah Nemtsov: White Eyes Erased (2014/15)

Mirela Ivičević: The F SonG (Dominosa VII) (2014)

Matthias Kranebitter: Combative Music and Its Algorithmic Demystification (2020, premiere)

Stefan Prins: Fremdkörper # 2 (2010)

Alexander Kaiser: Mechanical Dogs (2019)


© Black Page Orchestra


Black Page Orchestra

Alessandro Baticci, flutes

Yukiko Krenn, saxophones

Samuel Toro Pérez, e-guitar

Alfredo Ovalles, piano/keyboard

Igor Gross, percussion

NN, viola

Rafał Zalech, viola

Matthias Kranebitter, electronics


Organized in partnership with :
Divertimento Ensemble - IT, Gaudeamus - NL, Ircam - FR, Mixtur - ES, Royaumont foundation - FR, Ultima - NO, Warsaw Autumn - PL