ULYSSES Ensemble


06/2021 Royaumont foundation – FR


Inspired by the grand tours of classical musicians traveling through Europe and the goals of training and enriching the practices of young musicians, the ULYSSES Network brings together 11 European institutions for the promotion and professionalization of young composers. With the ULYSSES Ensemble, the ULYSSES Network reached a new peak in 2017, concentrating its efforts on young performers in the domain of new music.

In 2021 the ULYSSES Ensemble  tours from June to October, visiting several European academies and festivals (IRCAM ManiFeste, Fondation Royaumont, Festival Mixtur).

© Fondation Royaumont


Sunday, June 20 — Monday, June 28 , 2021
Abbaye de Royaumont (France) 
Educational Advisor: Jean-Philippe Wurtz (conductor)

The second stop in the journey takes place at the Royaumont Foundation,  where the ULYSSES ensemble 2021 works on a range of works from the contemporary repertoire, including the new piece of composer Feliz Anne Reyes Macahis which the ensemble premieres during the first stop at IRCAM.

Here, young musicians have the chance to work closely with young Australian, Danemark-based composer, Kirsten Milenko (Voix Nouvelles 2020 Laureate), on her new piece for ensemble, commissioned by the Fondation Royaumont with the support of Christine Jolivet. Young musicians will also work on Thalleïn by Iannis Xenakis, a key work for ensemble by the Greek composer. French conductor Jean-Phillipe Wurtz conducts the ensemble through a week of rehearsals culminating in a public presentation on Sunday, June 27th at 3.30pm.

. Feliz Anne Reyes Macahis, new work for ensemble and electronics, 15 minutes (2021), ULYSSES Co-Commission by IRCAM-Centre Pompidou and Fondation Royaumont, with the support of the ULYSSES Network, supported by the European Union’s Creative Europe program

. Raphaël Cendo, Action painting, for 15 instrumentalists, 17 minutes (2004-2005)

. Iannis Xenakis, Thalleïn, for 14 instrumentalists, 17 minutes (1984)


Following young performers have been selected for the ULYSSES Ensemble 2021:
Flute – Rebecca Blau (DE)
Oboe – Claire Colombo (FR/IT)
Clarinet – Riccardo Acciarino (IT)
Bassoon – Olivia Palmer-Baker (IE/UK)
Horn – Mari Tirkkonen (FI)
Trumpet – Thaïs Jude (FR)
Trombone – Alejandro Ivorra Elull (ES)
Piano – Miharu Ogura (JP)
Percussion – Luis Azcona Delgado (ES)
Violin – Audrey Sproule (CDN)
Violin – Ernst Spyckerelle (BE)
Viola – Hortense Fourrier (FR)
Cello – Beatriz Raimundo (PT)
Bass – Mathilde Barillot (FR)

Organized in partnership with Ircam - FR, Mixtur - ES



Replay the Cultural Heritage

Young ensembles: Schallfeld

felis luctus venenatis, Aenean consequat. ut at consectetur ut sem,