Young Ensembles

Young ensembles: Schallfeld Part 1 – impuls

02/2021 impuls – AT

Young Ensemble in Residency: Schallfeld

Schallfeld is one of the ensembles benefitting from the Young Ensembles program of the ULYSSES Network.

They start with an invitation to impuls (AT) in February 2021, to be continued in August 2021, taking the position of junior-tutors, offering workshops for young composers, and profiting themselves from the support of senior academy tutors on site.

The ensemble members have the chance to connect with young composers through a call for scores, reading/feedback-sessions, and partly more intense rehearsals, leading to performances of selected pieces as well as other works as typical for their own repertoire and profiles.

Ensemble Schallfeld is featured with three concerts between February and August 2021, working closely with Pierluigi Billone, one of the academy´s composition tutors, for a brand new, approximately 30-minute long piece to be premiered at the impuls Festival.

Additionally, the ensemble participates in several presentations of their workshops, such as „Instruments + Voices“ for example, and Leonard Garms, the conductor of Ensemble Schallfeld, also gives a „First View. A Conductor´s Feedback on Scores“ for young composers present.


Consequently, Ensemble Schallfeld is featured not only during the main period of the impuls Academy and Festival, which had to be postponed from February to August 2021 due to the COVID-19-pandemic; but the Ensemble presents its first concert programme with two premieres already in February 2021 in Graz (AT).


Concert 1 21.2.2021, 20.00
Volkshaus Graz


Franco Donatoni: Hot (1989)

Rebecca Saunders: Fury II (2009)

Tomoya Yokokawa: Hi Hu Mi (2020, commissioned by Ensemble Schallfeld, World premiere)

Diana Soh: of smaller things, (2020, commissioned by Ensemble Schallfeld, World premiere)

© Schallfeld



Ensemble Schallfeld:

Szilárd Benes clarinet

Maria Flavia Cerrato/Patrick Skrilecz piano

Manuel Alcaraz Clemente percussion

Mirko Jevtović accordion

Lorenzo Derinni violin

Francesca Piccioni viola

Myriam García Fidalgo cello

Margarethe Maierhofer-Lischka double bass

NN flute

+ various guests TBA

Leonhard Garms conductor

Organized in partnership with Ircam - FR, Mixtur - ES, Warsaw Autumn - PL



Replay the Cultural Heritage

Young ensembles: Schallfeld

non porta. tempus Praesent facilisis Praesent ut accumsan massa sem, id